Shower Door Stopper

As a Home Builder in my day job (my night job being part-time superhero protecting pregnant Erin and Baby Grayson on our evening walks) I come across a LOT of small issues that don’t necessarily have obvious solutions. In said day job, I often have to devise my own clever way of solving these seemingly innocuous issues before they become something big, or just to make someone happy. I take this trick of the trade home with me and when I come across an issue that is bugging me or needs attention, I’ll either call upon the power of Google to find the answer or, when Google can’t help me, I’ll develop my own simple solution.

This was the case with my shower door. (I say MY shower door because Erin has her own bathroom with Jacuzzi tub and wall mount for a TV)

As you can see, my glass shower door opened up right into the edge of the corner seat inside, creating a possible glass-break/slice-foot scenario. Now one would think that there would be a specialized device to prevent this while keeping the aesthetic quality of the shower intact (anyone could strap a giant rubber bumper on the edge of the tile but who wants to see that in their walk-in getaway) Unfortunately, I could not find any easy, ready-made solutions for this so I made my own. The answer…regular old door stops.

Now, I didn’t want to screw into my tiled splash and risk doing permanent damage to it; so I call upon the power of the Silicone. (That’s right, it’s not just for making celebrities look weird in their Golden years)


A healthy portion on the back side of the base…

…and then just stick into place.

(Honestly, I didn’t mean for those last 2 lines to rhyme)

Let it dry for a few hours, 4 to 8 so the silicone can get to a strong and solid state. and then just insert the stops.

I stuck one at the top and bottom to give it a little extra support.


And now my door, and my feet are safe from the breaking of the glass!

By placing the stops next to your hinges, they are almost unnoticeable from the exterior.

And don’t worry about getting any silicone overflow onto your tile. The best thing about pure silicone is that when it dries, it sticks strong but you can still scrape it off easily like the Elmer’s glue boogers you used to make when you were in elementary school. Don’t lie, you know you did it.

5 thoughts on “Shower Door Stopper

  1. HOW LONG DID THIS LAST… having same problem here have frameless glass shower opening inwards [can’t find hinges that open only 90 degrees] and Inspector says I MUST HAVE STOPS to prevent a child from opening door into shower and hitting bench..

    • I removed the one on the bottom since it began to rust after a few months. But the one on the top is still there and works perfectly. The silicone is still holding it strong.

  2. Hi there Carey,

    Thank you so much posting this, even though it’s a few years old. I looked everywhere for some kind of glass door stop. We just had a very expensive glass door installed in our shower and it swings in or out. When it swings in it can hit the shower controls and my fear was breakage. There is nothing on the market for this.

    I took an all rubber door stop about 1.5 inches tall and used your technique to adhere it to the tile right next to the hinges. Works beautifully. I would post a picture or two but don’t think I can.

    • Hi Amelia,
      I’m so happy that you found this to be useful! I was experiencing the same issues and went through the same search as you did so I can completely understand the frustration. When I came up with this I had to share to hopefully help someone else out along the way.

      Thank you so much for the comment!
      – Carey

Leave a Reply

