Burrito Bowls

Need a quick and easy dinner?  This is just about as quick and easy as it gets.  We found that we were spending every Friday night at a restaurant that shall remain nameless.  Hint: it starts with a “Ch” and ends with an “ipotle.”  I can’t resist their chips and guac!

Unfortunately, it was eating into our monthly budget more than we wanted it to, so I had to come up with an alternative so that I could still get one of my favorite meals at least once a week.  This meal is so quick and cheap that I have made it more than once a week recently. Sorry, hubby!  I have to live without the chips and guac when I make it at home, but that is better for me anyway.  Maybe I’ll make PW’s Grilled Corn Guacamole soon to compliment this meal.

The toppings on the list below are just suggestions.  If you have favorite items that you put on your burritos at home, switch them out to your heart’s content.  No one will judge you…

Burrito Bowls

Burrito Bowls

You will need:

  • 4 chicken breasts, thawed
  • Rice (I use Southwest Instant Rice)
  • Black Beans
  • Pico de Gallo
  • Shredded Cheese
  • Sour Cream

Directions:

  1. Grill the chicken with your favorite seasonings and slice into thin strips.
  2. Cook the rice and beans.
  3. Place rice, beans, and chicken in bowls.
  4. Layer with additional toppings and serve.
Leave a Reply

