Single Digits

31 Weeks

I can’t remember much these days, but I do remember being 9 Weeks Pregnant.  Now, we only have 9 Weeks left and it doesn’t feel like it is even possible that time has gone by this quickly.  I still remember the day that we found out.

It was in the middle of the Snowpocalypse in February.  I was sitting on the couch of our first house, trying to stay warm and occupied (there are only so many days you can spend inside before you go a little stir-crazy).  Carey was out in the backyard, on a ladder, in two feet of snow.  He was attempting to figure out if our chimney was really separating from the house as the inspector’s report had said.  Not a fun time of our lives.

We had gone through our first round of fertility treatments earlier in the month and were just waiting to hear back from the doctor with the results from the blood test.  Stevie called and told me that the results were positive…and Carey was too far away to grab right away! So I grabbed my handy iPhone, typed a note, and held it up to the window…

He came running into the house covered in snow and got a big, tear-filled hug.  We were speechless for a while.  After a year of trying, we were in disbelief that it had actually happened.  We were going to be parents. That still sounds strange.

The last four weeks have been eventful.  We had our first baby shower, thrown by three of the greatest friends a girl could ask for (Kara, Susan, and Lauren).  Even though I couldn’t enjoy the margarita machine, I had a great time.

We ate way too much food, spent time with our best friends, and tried to change diapers as pairs.  When you have lots of competitive people in the room who have had a few margaritas, that game gets interesting…and loud.

This is my sister-in-law, Amy.  She is due 3 weeks after me.  No, I’m not joking.

The winners of the tandem diaper-changing challenge were Jessica and Randy.  I’m convinced that it is because they’ve had the most practice.

A few days after the shower, the mamaRoo arrived on our doorstep, courtesy of the hostesses with the mostesses.  If you have not yet seen the mamaRoo, you’re in for a treat. It is the Star Trek version of a baby swing, complete with 5 motion settings and a plug-in for your iPhone.  I believe it was used by Captain Janeway herself.  Notice the music in the video.  Grayson will be listening to the Transformers score before he is even old enough to see the movie.

Carey has been reading Shel Silverstein poems to Gray every night when we get into bed. It is fun to see how he starts rolling around at the sound of his dad’s voice.  To wrap up this long post, I will leave you with one of my new favorite SS poems…

SCALE

If I could only see the scale,

I’m sure that it would state

That I’ve lost ounces…maybe pounds

Or even tons of weight.

“You’d better eat some pancakes-

You’re skinny as a rail.”

I’m sure that’s what the scale would say…

If I could see the scale.

Leave a Reply

