Who’s the boss?

Like I’ve mentioned in earlier posts, I like to try to control my life through organization and lists.  Having a baby was unnerving because I couldn’t plan going into labor.  Then, my doctor gave me the option of a scheduled induction.  Yes!  I could add that to my list and plan accordingly.

  • Finish laundry – Check
  • Pack hospital bags – Check
  • Take dogs to vet – Check
  • Have a baby on October 24 – Hmm…
A wise woman (Karen Vance) kept telling me that I was going to have to learn that I can’t control everything.  And, I learned that lesson on the evening of October 22.  At about 10:15 PM, Grayson decided that he was ready to begin his journey into this world…just 33 hours before his item would have been checked off of my list.
As Carey and I were getting into bed, I told him that my contractions were getting longer and closer together.  I didn’t want to go to the hospital yet because they weren’t 5 minutes apart.  He convinced me to just go to the hospital just to check everything out.
I changed back out of my pajamas, we grabbed the bags, and headed to St. Francis. They sent me to a room when I got there and called the doctor on call to get his approval to admit me.  I was still convinced that they were going to send me home.  My contractions were still about 10 minutes apart and I was only dilated to a 3.  Within a couple of hours, my contractions were 2 minutes apart, I was dilated to a 6, and I was begging for an epidural.  At this point, I still hadn’t been officially admitted to the hospital!
The nurse came back quickly with my hospital tags and paged the anesthesiologist. At 4:00 AM, I got the epidural (thank goodness for that!) and it was smooth sailing for much of the morning.  Then, Gray decided to stop turning and we had to do some creative positioning to get him to turn.  At about 2:30 PM, he was finally ready to make his debut and at 3:45 on October 23, he was born.  Carey and I are already deeply in love.  Here are a few photos of all the people he got to meet in his first few days of life…

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I think that he is laughing about the whole thing in this picture.  He knows that I’m going to have to get over my control issues!
One thought on “Who’s the boss?

Leave a Reply

